Review of the new iOS Google Map

Did a 3-days test on the new iOS Google Maps. My verdict in short – beats the old iOS Google Map, new Apple Map & online Google map.
20121227-011927.jpg
Here’s what I like about it:

  • Auto re-routing: don’t have to worry if I did a wrong turn
  • Voice guided turn-by-turn: concentrate on the road, not the screen
  • Accurate & decent routes
  • Here’s what I thought could have been better:

  • The weird pronunciation of Malay street names – had a good laugh, but also hard time in mapping into the correct names
  • Didn’t warn me about tolls – my 1st trip had 3 ERPs! Luckily, they were not operational during the time
  • Used up quite a fair bit of battery life over a short time
  • So where did I go? My destinations include: Punggol, Sengkang, Buangkok, Zion Road, Jurong, Turf Club Road, Fairways Drive, & Raffles Boulevard. Quite a good mix, I would say.

    Overall, it’s a good companion for the driver.

    Leave a Reply

